Kansas State Fireworks Laws

KANSAS CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted All pyrotechnic devices classified as consumer
fireworks by DOT, except certain rockets.
Specifically prohibited Any rockets mounted on a wire or stick,
including any device containing such rockets.
Selling period June 27-July 5 (including delivery of mail-order
fireworks)
DISPLAY FIREWORKS  

Display Permit

Apply to local authorities for written permission.
NFPA1123 requirements adopted by reference.

Insurance Required per NFPA 1123, Sec. 6-32.
Operator License required.
MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION NFPA 1124 adopted by reference.
LICENSING Manufacturing, wholesale, and retail licenses
required annually; apply to Division of Fire Safety
at least 30 days in advance of activity. The
License is valid through Sept. 1 of the following
year. Retail licenses are good for the calendar
year in which issued.
Exporter $ 1,500
Wholesaler $ 1,500
Display $ 1,500
Retailer (per location) $ 50
REGISTRATION Any manufacturer or wholesaler who stores,
handles, possesses, or transports rockets
mounted on a stick or wire for any purpose
outside the state must register annually with the
State Fire Marshal. Applications received before
May 31, valid for 1 year.

ENFORCING AUTHORITY 

State Fire Marshal
State of Kansas
800 SW Jackson Street, Suite 104
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: 785-296-3401

https://firemarshal.ks.gov/

LAW NUMBER

Kansas Statues 31-133, 134, 155, 156
Kansas Regulations 22-6-1 et seq.