Arizona State Fireworks Laws

ARIZONA CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted

May 20 –July 6 Ground based sparkling devices including fountains
Dec. 10 – Jan. 3 multiple tube cake devices, illuminating torches,
wheels, and ground spinners
Specifically permitted year round Sparklers, smoker devices, and novelty devices
as defined in APA Std. 87-1 2001 edition.

Specifically prohibited

Aerial consumer fireworks, bottle & sky rockets, helicopters, torpedoes, roman candles & jumping jacks.

AERIAL CONSUMER, DISPLAY FIREWORKS
& PYROTECHNICS

Consumer Fireworks Permits Check local regulations for permit fees, zoning, and fire
Inspections.
Display Permits Fire Marshal has permit authority over all fireworks
and pyrotechnics displays & events on public school,
state, and country properties.
Pyrotechnics $164
Special Events Tent $164
Fair or Trade Show $164
Explosives or Blasting Storage $164

Insurance May be required by local authorities
Operator No license specifically required by state law but may
be required by local authorities.

ENFORCING AUTHORITY 

State of Arizona
Dept. of Fire, Building & Life Safety
Robert Barger
1110 West Washington Street, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Email: Robert.Barger@dfbls.az.gov
www.dfbls.az.gov

LAW NUMBER

Title 4, Chapter 36, Article 2, sections R4-36-202 and
R4-36-301; Title 36, Chapter 13, Sec. 36-1601 et. Seq.